The 411 on DWIs: The Drunk Driving Laws of Texas
Texas currently enforces many strict laws for those committing drunk driving offenses. More Texans are killed each year in these accidents than any other form of negligence. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) can have serious implications depending on the person committing the infraction. It could also result in long jail/prison terms if a victim has been involved. How do Texas’ laws apply to inebriated driving?
The Higher the BAC, the Longer the Sentence
Texas laws determine how a punishment will be carried out for a DWI based on a driver’s blood alcohol content (BAC). The state has set a cap of a .08 percent BAC for those over 21 years of age. For others, the following apply:
- Under 21 years of age, any detectable amount
- Commercial drivers, .04 percent
The amount you’ve had to drink, your body type and even gender can determine your alcohol content level. Always have an alternative to travel home if planning to drink socially. A designated driver or taxi service are only two possible options that may prevent you from becoming involved in an accident.
Open the Bottle, Understand the Punishment
It isn’t illegal to drink socially with friends or family. Deciding to get behind the wheel after consuming large amounts of alcohol is. Which punishments can a drunk driver possibly face if he/she decides to risk yours and someone else’s safety by operating a vehicle? Typical penalties include:
- Excessive fines, court and attorney fees
- Possible suspension of license
- Imprisonment, even for a first time offender
Nothing can be more negligent than driving a vehicle while drunk. Know that if you are injured or have lost a family member to a drunk driver’s reckless actions, legal help is available. The J. Gonzalez Law Firm of McAllen can be reached at 956.630.6700.